spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches second set of NRO satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:24 PM ET (2024 GMT)
A Falcon 9 launched the second set of reconnaissance satellites for an NRO constellation June 28. The rocket lifted off from Vandenberg Space Force Base...

Russian satellite breaks up in LEO
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
A defunct Russian satellites has broken up in low Earth orbit, creating potentially hundreds of pieces of debris. U.S. Space Command said Thursday that...

ULA replaces Dream Chaser on second Vulcan launch
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)
ULA will launch an inert payload, rather than Sierra Space's Dream Chaser, on the second Vulcan launch. ULA announced Wednesday that the Cert-2...

SpaceX wins contract for ISS deorbit vehicle
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 9:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
SpaceX won a $843 million NASA contract to build a vehicle to help deorbit the ISS. NASA said Wednesday it selected SpaceX to build the...

SpaceX launches Falcon 9 satellites
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 9:51 AM ET (1351 GMT)
SpaceX set another booster reuse record with a Starlink launch Thursday morning. A Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 7:14 am EDT (...

Falcon Heavy launches GOES-U weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 9:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
A Falcon Heavy rocket successfully launched a NOAA weather satellite Tuesday. The Falcon Heavy lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at 5:26 pm...

Collins Aerospace backs out of NASA spacesuit contract
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
Collins Aerospace says it is "descoping" work for NASA on a new spacesuit for the International Space Station. The company won a NASA task order...

Chang'e-6 returns lunar farside samples to Earth
Posted: Sat, Jun 29 1:17 PM ET (1717 GMT)
A capsule containing samples collected on the far side of the moon by a Chinese spacecraft has returned to Earth. The return capsule from the...

Airbus takes $900 million charge on space programs
Posted: Sat, Jun 29 1:12 PM ET (1712 GMT)
Airbus announced Monday it will record a charge of nearly $1 billion because of problems on satellite programs. The company said it would take the...

Second straight ISS spacewalk scrubbed
Posted: Sat, Jun 29 1:09 PM ET (1709 GMT)
A second consecutive spacewalk was scrubbed at the International Space Station Monday. Astronauts Tracy Dyson and Mike Barratt had suited up and were just opening...



news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list