spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Earnings season: Globalstar, Orbital, SpaceDev report quarterly losses
Posted: Wed, May 16 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
Three companies in various areas of the space business reported quarterly losses Tuesday, leading one company CEO to resign. Satellite communications company Globalstar reported a $...

Proton launches American communications satellite
Posted: Tue, May 15 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)
A Russian Proton rocket successfully launched an American communications satellite Monday night. The Proton-K booster lifted off at 9:11 pm EDT (0111 GMT...

Lockheed Martin announces satellite division layoffs
Posted: Mon, May 14 2:21 PM ET (1821 GMT)
Lockheed Martin has laid off nearly 10 percent of the workforce in its commercial satellite division, Space News reported Monday. The company said it notified...

Boeing selects Chicago for new corporate headquarters
Posted: Fri, May 11 12:10 AM ET (0410 GMT)
The Boeing Corporation announced Thursday it has selected Chicago as the site of its new corporate headquarters. Boeing, the world's largest aerospace company, selected...

Tito gets warm reception in L.A.
Posted: Fri, May 11 12:04 AM ET (0404 GMT)
Dennis Tito was greeted by friends, family, and dozens of space enthusiasts when he returned to Los Angeles Wednesday afternoon. The group, who included Tito'...

Fire disables Russian satellite communication post
Posted: Thu, May 10 12:18 PM ET (1618 GMT)
A fire at a Russian ground station has caused a loss of contact with four military spacecraft, the BBC and CNN reported Thursday. The fire...

Endeavour returns to Florida atop 747
Posted: Thu, May 10 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour returned to the Kennedy Space Center in Florida Wednesday atop a 747, a little over a week after landing in California....

Another successful test flight for the X-40A
Posted: Wed, May 9 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)
The X-40A experimental vehicle completed its fifth NASA test flight on Tuesday. The vehicle was released from a helicopter at an altitude of 4,...

Sea Launch puts second XM Radio satellite in orbit
Posted: Wed, May 9 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)
A Zenit-3SL launcher successfully delivered the second of two XM Radio broadcasting satellites Tuesday evening. The booster lifted off at 6:10 pm EDT (...

Rumsfeld announces plans to elevate importance of military space
Posted: Wed, May 9 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
US Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld announced a series of proposals Tuesday that will increase the importance of space-related activities in the American military....



news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list