spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches experimental satellite
Posted: Wed, Jul 6 8:47 AM ET (1247 GMT)
China launched a small experimental satellite early Wednesday. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest China at 6:40...

Japanese launch delayed
Posted: Wed, Jul 6 8:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)
Poor weather has delayed the launch an astronomy satellite for at least two days, the Japanese space agency JAXA announced. The M-5 rocket was...

Deep Impact scores a bullseye
Posted: Mon, Jul 4 11:27 AM ET (1527 GMT)
A probe from NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft collided with the nucleus of comet Tempel 1 early Monday as scientists declared the mission a "smashing...

China steps up manned spaceflight plans
Posted: Mon, Jul 4 11:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)
China has started training six astronauts for future manned missions, including two who will fly later this year, according to Chinese media reports. The six...

Deep Impact deploys impactor probe
Posted: Sun, Jul 3 12:23 PM ET (1623 GMT)
NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft released the probe early Sunday that will collide with the nucleus of comet Tempel 1 in less than 24 hours....

Shin reorders satellite
Posted: Fri, Jul 1 8:27 PM ET (0027 GMT)
Alcatel Space announced Friday that Shin Satellite has ordered a new communications satellite, a spacecraft that the Thai company is actually reordering from the French...

SatMex files for bankruptcy protection
Posted: Fri, Jul 1 8:17 PM ET (0017 GMT)
Mexican satellite operator SatMex filed for bankruptcy protection in its home country on Thursday even as its creditors continued to pressure the company to make...

STS-114 launch set for July 13
Posted: Thu, Jun 30 8:36 PM ET (0036 GMT)
NASA officials announced late Thursday afternoon that the agency has scheduled the launch of the shuttle Discovery on the first post-Columbia mission for July...

Progress boosts ISS orbit
Posted: Thu, Jun 30 7:45 AM ET (1145 GMT)
A Progress cargo spacecraft docked to the International Space Station has raised the orbit of the station, a move made in preparation for next month'...

Report: Boeing to name new CEO
Posted: Thu, Jun 30 7:36 AM ET (1136 GMT)
The Boeing Company is expected to name the head of 3M as its new CEO today, according to press reports. W. James McNerney Jr., a...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list