spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Deal reached on New Mexico spaceflight liability legislation
Posted: Thu, Jan 24 7:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
New Mexico state legislators confirmed Wednesday that they have reached a deal with a state lawyers organization and commercial spaceflight provider Virgin Galactic to amend...

Technical issue delays next Atlas launch a day
Posted: Thu, Jan 24 7:33 AM ET (1233 GMT)
United Launch Alliance (ULA) has delayed the upcoming launch of a NASA communications satellite by one day to replace a launch vehicle component. The Atlas...

Startup company announces asteroid mining plans
Posted: Wed, Jan 23 7:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
For the second time in less than a year, a company has announced plans to develop a fleet of spacecraft to prospect and eventually extract...

Mars crater shows signs of past lake
Posted: Tue, Jan 22 6:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)
Planetary scientists have found evidence that a Martian crater was once home to a lake fed by groundwater. Scientists reporting in the latest edition of...

Arabsat orders new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 7:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)
Middle Eastern satellite operator Arabsat announced Saturday it has ordered a new communications satellite to be built and launched by European companies. Badr-7 (also...

Reaction wheel glitch temporarily suspends Kepler operations
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 6:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
NASA's Kepler spacecraft is suspending science operations for ten days to rest a reaction wheel that showed signs of wear, project officials said late...

South Korea sets new launch date for KSLV-1
Posted: Fri, Jan 18 5:37 AM ET (1037 GMT)
South Korean officials announced this week they will make another attempt to launch their own small launch vehicle during a window that opens late this...

ESA, NASA agree on ATV-based service module for Orion
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 5:05 AM ET (1005 GMT)
NASA and ESA formally announced Wednesday that Europe will develop a service module for at least one Orion mission based on the ATV cargo spacecraft....

Curiosity rover ready to test drill
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 6:41 AM ET (1141 GMT)
NASA's Curiosity Mars rover is set to test its drill in the coming days on a rock that scientists believe may provide new information...

Rockot places three satellites in orbit
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 6:25 AM ET (1125 GMT)
A Russian Rockot booster placed three Russian military satellites into orbit on Tuesday in the first orbital launch of the year. The Rockot vehicle lifted...



news in brief
Delta 2 SMAP launch postponed to Saturday
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:19 AM ET (1119 GMT)

Air Forces cancels competition for EELV-class launch
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)

Winds postpone Delta 2 launch a day
Posted: Thu, Jan 29 8:37 PM ET (0137 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 30
Spire Readies Satellite Swarm
Information Week — 5:52 am ET (1052 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list