spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Teledesic announces satellite contract, revised constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:56 AM ET (1556 GMT)
Broadband satellite communications company Teledesic announced Friday that it has signed a contract with Italian aerospace firm Alenia Spazio to build the first two satellites...

News briefs: February 1
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:47 AM ET (1547 GMT)
Orbital Imaging, also known as Orbimage, is expected to file for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection next month as part of a prearranged restructuring plan, the...

News briefs: January 31
Posted: Fri, Feb 1 10:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)
Spacecraft controllers will initiate a series of maneuvers February 5 designed to put ESA's Artemis spacecraft into geostationary orbit. Artemis was launched on an...

Bolden named to number two NASA post
Posted: Fri, Feb 1 8:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
Marine general and former astronaut Charles Bolden was nominated Thursday to be NASA deputy administrator, the number two ranking position at the space agency. Bolden...

NASA releases criteria for ISS crews
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 9:46 PM ET (0246 GMT)
NASA released to the public Thursday guidelines approved by the International Space Station partner nations for crews visiting the orbiting outpost. The "ISS Crew Criteria...

EUVE reentry over Egypt
Updated: Thu, Jan 31 9:33 PM ET (0233 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Jan 31 8:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)
The Extreme Ultraviolet Explorer (EUVE) spacecraft came back to Earth over central Egypt Wednesday night, according to NASA reports Thursday. According to a space agency...

News briefs: January 30
Posted: Thu, Jan 31 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
The launch of a Soyuz taxi flight carrying space tourist Mark Shuttleworth may be delayed a week, Russian officials said Wednesday. The launch of the...

News briefs: January 29
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
A leading Russian government official claimed Tuesday that Russia planned to vacate the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan by 2005. Alexander Kosovan, Russian deputy defense minister,...

EUVE to reenter by Thursday
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 8:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
NASA's Extreme Ultraviolet Explorer (EUVE) spacecraft is expected to reenter the Earth's atmosphere by Thursday morning, the space agency announced Tuesday. The spacecraft...

News briefs: January 28
Posted: Tue, Jan 29 10:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
Boeing's Rocketdyne division unveiled the design Monday for its proposed rocket engine for the next generation of reusable launch vehicles. The RS-83 is...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 21
Marco Rubio's reservations put Trump's NASA nominee in jeopardy
Fort Myers (FL) News-Press — 1:17 am ET (0617 GMT)
NASA Astronaut Jessica Meir Orbits Back to Scripps Campus for a Visit
Scripps Institution of Oceanography — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)
In a Tweet, Fox News Seems to Question the Moon Landing
The Atlantic — 1:15 am ET (0615 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list