spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon returns to Earth
Posted: Thu, May 21 9:00 PM ET (0100 GMT)
A SpaceX Dragon spacecraft departed from the International Space Station early Thursday and splashed down in the Pacific Ocean several hours later. The Dragon spacecraft,...

Atlas launches X-37B on fourth mission
Posted: Thu, May 21 8:50 PM ET (0050 GMT)
An Atlas 5 placed the Air Force's X-37B and a number of smallsat secondary payloads into orbit on Wednesday. The Atlas 5 501...

Proton launch fails
Posted: Sat, May 16 10:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
A Proton rocket carrying a Mexican communications satellite malfunctioned during launch, causing the satellite and upper stage to crash in Siberia. The Proton M rocket...

Brightman cancels ISS trip
Posted: Thu, May 14 9:27 AM ET (1327 GMT)
Would-be space tourist Sarah Brightman announced Wednesday she was dropping plans to fly to the International Space Station in September. Brightman said she was...

ISS crew rotations delayed
Posted: Wed, May 13 9:04 AM ET (1304 GMT)
The return of one set of crew from the ISS and the launch of a replacement crew have been delayed because of an ongoing investigation...

Progress reenters over Pacific
Posted: Fri, May 8 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
A Progress spacecraft that controllers lost control of shortly after launch reentered harmlessly over the Pacific Ocean Thursday night. The Russian space agency Roscosmos said...

SpaceX successfully tests Dragon abort system
Posted: Fri, May 8 7:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)
A SpaceX Dragon spacecraft performed a pad abort test Wednesday in Florida, successfully demonstrating its ability to escape in an emergency. The Dragon, seated on...

Blue Origin launches New Shepard vehicle on first test flight
Posted: Sat, May 2 11:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Blue Origin announced late Wednesday that it completed the first test flight of its suborbital New Shepard vehicle, flying the vehicle to the edge of...

Progress cargo spacecraft to reenter
Posted: Sat, May 2 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)
Russian controllers have abandoned efforts to restore control over a Progress cargo spacecraft that started spinning out of control shortly after launch Tuesday, leaving it...

MESSENGER missions ends with crash on Mercury
Posted: Sat, May 2 10:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
NASA's MESSENGER mission came to an end Thursday when the spacecraft, out of fuel, crashed on the surface of the planet Mercury. MESSENGER hit...



news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 20
San Antonio’s SwRI 2017 revenue falls to lowest in seven years
San Antonio Express-News — 4:57 am ET (0957 GMT)
HI-SEAS Crewmember Transported to Hilo Hospital
Big Island (HI) Now — 4:56 am ET (0956 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list