spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress cargo spacecraft spins out of control after launch
Posted: Wed, Apr 29 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
A Progress cargo spacecraft started spinning out of control shortly after its launch Tuesday, and Russian officials were increasingly pessimistic about the prospects of restoring...

Falcon launches communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 28 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
A Falcon 9 rocket launched a communications satellite built for Turkmenistan and Monaco on Monday evening. The Falcon 9 v1.1 lifted off from Cape...

Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Tue, Apr 28 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
An Ariane 5 rocket successfully launched two satellites on Sunday. The Ariane 5 lifted off at 4:00 pm EDT (2000 GMT) and released the...

Progress undocks from ISS
Posted: Sat, Apr 25 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)
A Russian Progress cargo spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station early Saturday, opening a docking port on the station for a new cargo vehicle....

Ariane 5 launch postponed to Sunday
Posted: Sat, Apr 25 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
The launch of an Ariane 5 carrying two satellites, already delayed because of one problem, was postponed again on Friday by 48 hours. The Friday...

SpaceX launches Dragon, just misses first stage landing
Posted: Thu, Apr 16 3:05 PM ET (1905 GMT)
A SpaceX Falcon 9 successfully launched a Dragon cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station on Tuesday, but an attempt to land the first stage...

ULA unveils Vulcan launch vehicle plans
Posted: Thu, Apr 16 2:51 PM ET (1851 GMT)
United Launch Alliance released Monday more details about its next-generation launch system, including that it will be named Vulcan. The vehicle, formerly known as...

Next X-37B launch delayed
Posted: Sat, Apr 11 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
The launch of a classified Air Force spaceplane on its fourth mission has been postponed at least two weeks, officials said Friday. The launch of...

Blue Origin completes work on BE-3 engine for suborbital vehicle
Posted: Wed, Apr 8 9:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
Blue Origin announced Tuesday that it has completed work on an engine that will power its suborbital vehicle, allowing test flights to begin later this...

Plan allows for human Mars missions in 2030s
Posted: Wed, Apr 8 9:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)
A new proposal discussed at a recent workshop would allow human missions to Mars in the 2030s without a major increase in NASA's budget....



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, August 19
Spy satellite chief weighs in on reforms
POLITICO — 9:26 am ET (1326 GMT)
Editorial: Space travel still a fearful prospect
New Zealand Herald — 9:21 am ET (1321 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list