spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Fairing problem delays Ariane launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 19 8:17 PM ET (0117 GMT)
An Ariane 4 launch scheduled for the early morning hours Wednesday has been delayed three days because of minor issues with the booster, Arianespace announced...

News briefs: February 18
Posted: Tue, Feb 19 8:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft is ready to begin its science mission this week, the AP reported Monday. The spacecraft's instruments will begin searches...

Report: bad wiring caused Japanese satellite failure
Posted: Mon, Feb 18 9:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
Faulty wiring prevented a Japanese spacecraft from separating from its H-2A booster during a launch earlier this month, according to a Japanese newspaper article...

News briefs: February 16-17
Posted: Mon, Feb 18 9:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
A newly-discovered comet could become visible to the naked eye for northern hemisphere observers next month according to Astronomy magazine. Comet 2002 C1 Ikeya-...

News briefs: February 15
Posted: Sat, Feb 16 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
An employee of a Japanese aerospace company hacked into the computers of the NASDA space agency and obtained confidential information about a competitor, the AP...

Globalstar files for bankruptcy protection
Posted: Sat, Feb 16 9:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
Satellite communications company Globalstar announced late Friday that it has filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection as part of a restructuring plan. In a press...

News briefs: February 14
Posted: Fri, Feb 15 8:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)
Loral Space and Communications reported a net loss of $277 million in 2001 on Thursday, far less than the $1.5 billion it lost the...

Shuttle given tentative OK for February 28 launch
Posted: Fri, Feb 15 8:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
Shuttle managers announced Thursday that they have decided to proceed with a February 28 launch attempt for Columbia despite concerns about hydraulic systems on the...

News briefs: February 13
Posted: Thu, Feb 14 8:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
NASA is "one significant problem away" from delaying the STS-109 shuttle mission scheduled for launch February 28, SPACE.com reported Wednesday. The current schedule...

News briefs: February 12
Posted: Wed, Feb 13 8:48 AM ET (1348 GMT)
The next International Space Station spacewalk is scheduled for February 20, NASA announced Tuesday. Astronauts Carl Walz and Dan Bursch will use the station's...



news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list