spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA names new JSC director, chief scientist
Posted: Wed, Feb 13 8:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has selected a new director for the Johnson Space Center as well as a new chief scientist for the agency....

News briefs: February 11
Posted: Tue, Feb 12 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
NASA's Thermosphere, Ionosphere, Mesosphere, Energetics and Dynamics (TIMED) spacecraft has started its science mission, NASA reported Monday. TIMED was launched into Earth orbit on...

Delta 2 launches Iridium spacecraft
Posted: Mon, Feb 11 7:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)
On the fourth attempt in as many days, a Delta 2 rocket successfully launched five replacement Iridium satellites Monday afternoon. The booster lifted off at...

News briefs: February 9-10
Posted: Mon, Feb 11 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
The Indian Space Resource Organization (ISRO) successfully completed the first full test firing of a new cryogenic engine, the AFP news agency reported Sunday. The...

Sensor problem delays Delta 2 launch, another attempt Monday
Updated: Mon, Feb 11 8:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sun, Feb 10 1:56 PM ET (1856 GMT)
For the third day in a row the launch of a Delta 2 carrying five Iridium satellites has been delayed. Launch controllers delayed a planned...

Delta 2 launch delayed again, next attempt Sunday
Updated: Sun, Feb 10 9:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Feb 9 12:57 PM ET (1757 GMT)
The launch of a Delta 2 rocket, scheduled for Saturday, has been delayed again, this time because of problems with a support plane. Mechanical problems...

More setbacks for EU Galileo project
Posted: Sat, Feb 9 12:10 PM ET (1710 GMT)
The troubled Galileo project, a European effort to develop a global positioning system to rival GPS, suffered two key setbacks this week that threaten to...

News briefs: February 8
Posted: Sat, Feb 9 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
A long-delayed Titan 2 launch of a military weather satellite, planned for this month, has been pushed back again, Space News reported late Friday....

Wind gust delays Delta launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 9 9:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
A strong gust of wind in the final minute of the countdown delayed Friday's scheduled launch of a Delta 2 booster for a day....

NASA considers foreign launch options for Triana
Posted: Fri, Feb 8 9:06 AM ET (1406 GMT)
NASA is evaluating two proposals to launch the Triana spacecraft on foreign boosters, Space News reported Thursday. One proposal would launch Triana as a secondary...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list