spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Blue Origin says Blue Moon lander lander could take astronauts to the Moon in 2024
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
Jeff Bezos said Thursday Blue Origin's lunar lander could be ready to land astronauts on the moon in 2024. At an event in Washington,...

Administration still developing revised budget for 2024 Moon plan
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:54 AM ET (1454 GMT)
NASA said at a House hearing Wednesday the administration is still one to two weeks away from providing a revised budget proposal for the new...

Crew Dragon suffered problem with parachutes in recent test
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
A test of the parachute system for SpaceX's Crew Dragon spacecraft went awry last month. NASA said at a House space subcommittee hearing Wednesday...

Senate confirms Ex-Im bank nominees
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)
The Senate confirmed Wednesday three nominees for the board of the Ex-Im Bank. Senators voted by large margins to confirm Kimberly Reed as president...

SpaceX sets May 15 date for first Starlink launch
Posted: Sun, May 12 10:51 AM ET (1451 GMT)
SpaceX plans to launch its first set of "dozens" of Starlink broadband satellites within days, with as many as six more launches to follow this...

Rocket Lab launches three military satellites
Posted: Sun, May 5 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)
A Rocket Lab Electron rocket successfully launched three technology demonstration satellites for the Defense Department Sunday. The Electron lifted off from the company's launch...

SpaceX launches Dragon cargo spacecraft to the ISS
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched a Dragon cargo spacecraft to the ISS Saturday after delays caused by problems in space and at sea. A Falcon 9 lifted...

Blue Origin launches New Shepard on latest test flight
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Blue Origin performed another successful test flight of its New Shepard suborbital vehicle Thursday. The vehicle, carrying 38 microgravity research payloads, lifted off from the...

Inmarsat reports decline in earnings in first quarter
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
Inmarsat's profit fell ahead of a vote by shareholders next week on takeover bid. The company reported this week that earnings fell by 13...

NASA offers details on 2024 lunar landing plans
Posted: Sat, May 4 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
NASA is providing more details about how it thinks it can achieve a human lunar landing by 2024, but the budget remains uncertain. In a...



news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list