spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays shuttle launch
Posted: Thu, May 30 8:49 PM ET (0049 GMT)
Threatening weather forced NASA shuttle managers to scrub Thursday's night scheduled launch of Endeavour by one day. Endeavour was scheduled to lift off at...

Bass, Garver pass medical tests; space tourist selection uncertain
Posted: Thu, May 30 2:27 PM ET (1827 GMT)
The two leading candidates to become the next commercial space tourist have passed medical exams, but Russian officials are doubtful that either will be able...

News briefs: May 29
Posted: Thu, May 30 10:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
NASA announced late Wednesday that the official launch time for shuttle mission STS-111 would be Thursday at 7:44 pm EDT (2344 GMT), in...

Large quantities of ice found on Mars
Posted: Thu, May 30 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
Data from NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft have revealed "enormous quantities" of water ice hidden just below the surface in polar regions of the Red...

Israel, Russia launch military satellites
Posted: Wed, May 29 2:04 PM ET (1804 GMT)
Israel and Russia separately launched military satellites within hours of each other on Tuesday. A Shavit rocket successfully launched Israel's Ofeq 5 reconnaissance satellite...

News briefs: May 28
Posted: Wed, May 29 1:51 PM ET (1751 GMT)
A fleet of NASA spacecraft recently jointly observed a solar storm for the first time, the space agency announced Tuesday. The spacecraft, part of NASA'...

Endeavour countdown begins
Posted: Wed, May 29 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
The countdown towards Thursday's launch of the shuttle Endeavour started early Tuesday with weather posing the greatest chance of delaying the mission. The exact...

News briefs: May 25-27
Posted: Tue, May 28 9:11 AM ET (1311 GMT)
A clean room used by a French-Russian company suffered minor damage when additional sections of a hangar at Baikonur collapsed last week. The clean...

ESA announces revised science mission plan
Posted: Tue, May 28 8:51 AM ET (1251 GMT)
The European Space Agency will restructure a number of planned space science missions and indefinitely postpone a Venus mission, according to a revamped mission plan...

News briefs: May 24
Posted: Sat, May 25 5:15 AM ET (0915 GMT)
A British effort to build a Mars lander has won a major grant from a medical research charity, the BBC reported Friday. The Wellcome Trust...



news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list