spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: June 7
Posted: Sat, Jun 8 12:32 PM ET (1632 GMT)
A Proton booster is ready to launch a Russian civil communications satellite early Monday, RIA Novosti reported Friday. The Proton is scheduled to launch from...

Endeavour docks with station
Posted: Fri, Jun 7 6:30 PM ET (2230 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour successfully docked with the International Space Station Friday afternoon despite some minor post-docking problems. The shuttle docked with the station...

New NICMOS images released
Posted: Fri, Jun 7 10:13 AM ET (1413 GMT)
The first images from the Hubble Space Telescope's Near Infrared Camera and Multi Object Spectrometer (NICMOS) instrument in more than three years were released...

News briefs June 6
Posted: Fri, Jun 7 8:36 AM ET (1236 GMT)
ICO Global Communications has closed most of its London headquarters as its owners debate the future of the satellite communications company, Space News reported Thursday....

Globalstar looking for investment from Inmarsat, Intelsat
Posted: Fri, Jun 7 8:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
Satellite communications company Globalstar is looking for investment by Inmarsat, Intelsat, and other companies as it attempts to reemerge from bankruptcy, Reuters reported this week....

Lockheed Martin, Loral considering merging satellite units
Posted: Thu, Jun 6 9:10 AM ET (1310 GMT)
Lockheed Martin and Loral are in talks to merge their rival satellite manufacturing divisions into a single venture, the Wall Street Journal and other sources...

News briefs: June 5
Posted: Thu, Jun 6 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)
The Russian Duma ratified two space-related accords with Ukraine and Brazil this week, RIA Novosti reported. The Ukrainian agreement, signed in February 2001, deals...

Endeavour lifts off
Posted: Wed, Jun 5 6:33 PM ET (2233 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour lifted off Wednesday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. The shuttle started mission STS-111 with a liftoff...

Mars Odyssey deploys science boom
Posted: Wed, Jun 5 2:32 PM ET (1832 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft deployed a boom with a major scientific instrument on the end of it Tuesday, mission managers reported. The 6.2-...

Ariane launches Intelsat 905
Posted: Wed, Jun 5 9:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched the Intelsat 905 communications satellite early Wednesday. The Ariane 44L, the version of the Ariane 4 that uses four...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 22
New project puts Denmark firmly on the space map
Copenhagen Post — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list