spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Russian satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 21 10:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
A Soyuz launch vehicles placed a Russian government satellite into orbit late Thursday night. The Soyuz lifted off at 8:17 pm EDT Thursday (0017...

Solar sail launched; recovery effort underway
Posted: Fri, Jul 20 6:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)
A solar sail demonstrator spacecraft was successfully launched on a suborbital test flight Thursday evening. The Cosmos 1 spacecraft was launched at 8:33 pm...

Leaky air valve replaced on station
Posted: Thu, Jul 19 11:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)
Shuttle and station astronauts replaced a leaky air circulation valve in the new Quest airlock module of the International Space Station Wednesday night. The leak...

Astronauts complete second ISS spacewalk
Posted: Wed, Jul 18 11:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)
Two NASA astronauts completed the second of three planned spacewalks outside the International Space Station Tuesday night despite a computer glitch that threatened to derail...

Astronauts gear up for second spacewalk, mission extended a day
Updated: Tue, Jul 17 3:13 PM ET (1913 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Jul 17 11:46 AM ET (1546 GMT)
Two shuttle astronauts are gearing up for a second spacewalk outside the International Space Station tonight despite problems that led shuttle managers Tuesday to extend...

Spacecraft reaches halfway point on odyssey to Mars
Posted: Tue, Jul 17 11:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
NASA's 2001 Mars Odyssey spacecraft reached the halfway point in its 200-day mission to the red planet Monday in excellent health. The spacecraft...

Astronauts install space station airlock
Posted: Sun, Jul 15 11:55 AM ET (1555 GMT)
Astronauts successfully attached a new airlock module to the International Space Station during a six hour spacewalk late Saturday night. The Quest airlock module was...

Spacecraft detects water in extrasolar system
Posted: Sun, Jul 15 11:36 AM ET (1536 GMT)
An orbiting spacecraft has uncovered the first direct evidence of water in an extrasolar system, astronomers said last week. Astronomers said that observations by the...

Atlantis docks with space station
Posted: Sat, Jul 14 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis docked with the International Space Station Friday night as shuttle and station crews prepared to install an airlock to the orbiting...

Ariane 5 places spacecraft in wrong orbit
Posted: Fri, Jul 13 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
A problem with the upper stage of an Ariane 5 booster stranded two communications satellites in low orbits late Thursday. The Ariane 5 lifted off...



news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, October 17
Kaptur forms group to back NASA
Sandusky (OH) Register — 8:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list