spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


New study supports collision model of lunar formation
Posted: Fri, Aug 17 10:54 AM ET (1454 GMT)
A paper published this week lends new credence to the proposal that a giant impact early in the history of the solar system formed the...

Astronomers discover Sun-like solar system
Posted: Thu, Aug 16 11:26 AM ET (1526 GMT)
Astronomers have discovered a solar system that is the most similar to our own found to date. Astronomers announced Wednesday the discovery of a second...

FUSE finds evidence of swarm of comets around young star
Posted: Thu, Aug 16 11:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
A nearby young star may be surrounded by millions of comets, astronomers announced this week. In a paper published in Thursday's issue of the...

Russian commercialization deal could be setback for Enterprise
Posted: Wed, Aug 15 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
An agreement by the Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos to commercialize the Russian segment of the International Space Station could be a setback for one joint...

"Marsplane" glider completes successful test flight
Posted: Wed, Aug 15 10:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
A glider that is a prototype of a future Mars aircraft made a successful test flight last week in Oregon, NASA officials announced this week....

ISS crew transfer completed
Posted: Mon, Aug 13 8:56 PM ET (0056 GMT)
The old and new International Space Station crews swapped placed Monday while shuttle astronauts attached a cargo module to the station. The Expedition Three crew...

Genesis on course, performing well
Posted: Mon, Aug 13 8:36 PM ET (0036 GMT)
NASA's Genesis spacecraft is working well and is on course after performing a short maneuver Friday, project officials said. Genesis, launched Wednesday afternoon from...

Discovery docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Aug 12 7:07 PM ET (2307 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery docked with the International Space Station on schedule Sunday afternoon. Discovery docked with the station at 2:42 pm EDT (1842...

Discovery lifts off
Posted: Fri, Aug 10 7:24 PM ET (2324 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery lifted off Friday afternoon on mission STS-105, leaving five minutes early to avoid approaching thunderstorms. Discovery lifted off at 5:...

Report: U.S. and Russia reach agreement on space station tourism
Posted: Fri, Aug 10 2:09 PM ET (1809 GMT)
NASA and Rosaviakosmos have completed a tentative agreement that would allow more commercial space tourists to visit the International Space Station, the Washington Post reported...



news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list