spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather scrubs shuttle launch
Posted: Thu, Aug 9 7:35 PM ET (2335 GMT)
NASA delayed Thursday's launch of the shuttle Discovery on mission STS-105 by a day after clouds and thunderstorms approached the launch site. The...

Delta launches Genesis spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Aug 8 2:32 PM ET (1832 GMT)
A Delta 2 booster successfully launched NASA's Genesis space science spacecraft Wednesday afternoon after over a week of delays. The Delta 2 lifted off...

Engine problem blamed for Ariane 5 failure
Posted: Wed, Aug 8 10:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
A combustion problem with an upper stage engine has been identified as the cause of a failed Ariane 5 launch last month according to a...

Camera fails during Galileo flyby of Io
Posted: Tue, Aug 7 12:39 PM ET (1639 GMT)
NASA's Galileo spacecraft completed a close flyby of Jupiter's moon Io Monday, but a camera failure during the flyby means that most of...

Genesis launch rescheduled for Wednesday
Posted: Tue, Aug 7 12:25 PM ET (1625 GMT)
NASA will attempt to launch the Genesis space science spacecraft Wednesday afternoon after technical concerns and poor weather delayed several launch attempts last week. The...

STS-105 countdown begins
Posted: Mon, Aug 6 11:01 PM ET (0301 GMT)
The countdown for Thursday's launch of the shuttle Discovery began late Monday after shuttle managers determined there were no problems with the shuttle's...

Titan 4 launches military satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 6 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
A Titan 4 booster successfully launched a military early-warning satellite early Monday from Cape Canaveral. The Titan 4B lifted off at 3:28 am...

Booster problem could delay shuttle launch
Posted: Sat, Aug 4 9:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
A possible problem with a solid rocket booster could delay Thursday's launch of the shuttle Discovery by several days, NASA officials said late Friday....

Weather grounds Genesis again
Posted: Fri, Aug 3 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)
Bad weather kept NASA from launching the Genesis space science spacecraft Friday for the third consecutive day, and other launches will keep the spacecraft grounded...

Discovery cleared for August 9 launch
Posted: Thu, Aug 2 1:13 PM ET (1713 GMT)
NASA announced late Wednesday that the space shuttle Discovery has been cleared for an August 9 launch on a mission to exchange space station crews....



news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list