spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Bad weather delays Genesis launch until Friday
Posted: Thu, Aug 2 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
Poor weather forecast for Cape Canaveral led launch officials early Thursday to delay the launch of NASA's Genesis space science mission until Friday. NASA...

General: weapons in space inevitable
Posted: Thu, Aug 2 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)
An Air Force general said Wednesday that the United States will likely put weapons in space to protect orbiting spacecraft from attack. Air Force chief...

Weather delays Genesis launch
Updated: Wed, Aug 1 3:17 PM ET (1917 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Aug 1 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
Clouds kept NASA's Genesis spacecraft on the ground for at least one more day Wednesday, hours after officials cleared the spacecraft for launch. The...

NASA creates panel to study ISS program
Posted: Wed, Aug 1 1:34 PM ET (1734 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has established a task force of experts to study the current status of the International Space Station program and suggest...

Russia launches solar science satellite
Posted: Tue, Jul 31 3:12 PM ET (1912 GMT)
A Ukrainian-built rocket launched a Russian spacecraft late Monday on a mission to study the Sun. The Tsiklon-3 booster lifted off from the...

House approves NASA budget
Posted: Tue, Jul 31 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
The U.S. House of Representatives approved a budget bill late Monday that provides $14.95 billion for NASA next year. The House passed HR...

Genesis launch delayed
Updated: Mon, Jul 30 5:20 PM ET (2120 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Jul 30 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
The launch of NASA's Genesis space science mission has been delayed until at least Wednesday as engineers investigate the possibility of a faulty power...

Titan launch on indefinite hold
Updated: Fri, Jul 27 6:45 PM ET (2245 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Jul 27 11:52 AM ET (1552 GMT)
Friday's scheduled launch of a Titan 4 carrying a military early-warning satellite has been delayed indefinitely after problems were found with the booster....

Lockheed Martin reports stronger earnings, weaker space sales
Posted: Fri, Jul 27 6:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)
Aerospace giant Lockheed Martin reported Thursday increased earnings in its fiscal second quarter, but noted weaker sales of launch vehicles and spacecraft. The company overall...

Russian solar satellite launch delayed indefinitely
Posted: Fri, Jul 27 12:35 PM ET (1635 GMT)
The launch of a Russian spacecraft designed to study the Sun has been delayed indefinitely after problems with the spacecraft were discovered this week. SPACE....



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list