spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Study raises possibility of ocean inside Callisto
Posted: Thu, Jul 26 3:28 PM ET (1928 GMT)
A report published Thursday suggests that an ocean of liquid water could exist within Callisto, the outermost of Jupiter's four large moons. According to...

New Mars images show signs of climate change, water ice
Posted: Wed, Jul 25 10:54 PM ET (0254 GMT)
New images of Mars published this week show evidence of what planetary scientists believe to be recent climate change on the Red Planet as well...

Shuttle lands in Florida
Posted: Wed, Jul 25 8:39 AM ET (1239 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis completed its mission to the International Space Station Tuesday night with a landing at the Kennedy Space Center. Atlantis touched down...

Senate partially funds Pluto mission
Posted: Tue, Jul 24 4:15 PM ET (2015 GMT)
The Senate Appropriations Committee approved a NASA budget bill late last week that includes a small wedge of funding for a mission to Pluto. The...

Weather postpones shuttle landing
Posted: Tue, Jul 24 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Poor weather at the Kennedy Space Center Monday night forced NASA to wave off two shuttle landing attempts, keeping Atlantis in orbit an extra day....

China planning additional unmanned Shenzhou flights
Posted: Mon, Jul 23 1:44 PM ET (1744 GMT)
The Chinese government is reportedly planning a third unmanned test flight of Shenzhou, a prototype of a proposed manned spacecraft, in the near future. The...

Atlas launches weather satellite
Posted: Mon, Jul 23 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)
An Atlas 2A booster successfully launched a weather satellite early Monday. The Atlas 2A lifted off at 3:23 am EDT (0723 GMT) Monday from...

Weather becoming less of an issue for shuttle landing
Posted: Mon, Jul 23 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
Poor weather is increasingly unlikely to delay the landing of the space shuttle Atlantis late Monday night, officials said early Monday. Atlantis is scheduled to...

Booster problem blamed for solar sail failure
Posted: Sun, Jul 22 7:05 PM ET (2305 GMT)
A problem with the computer in the upper stage of a Russian missile is considered the likely cause of the failure of a suborbital test...

Lightning strike delays Atlas launch
Posted: Sun, Jul 22 11:20 AM ET (1520 GMT)
The Atlas 2 launch of a new weather satellite was delayed by 24 hours late Saturday when lightning struck a nearby launch pad. The Atlas...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list