spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


X-38 completes eighth test flight
Posted: Fri, Dec 14 10:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
NASA’s X-38 experimental vehicle completed its eighth, and most ambitious, test flight on Thursday. The vehicle was released from a B-52 at...

News briefs: December 13
Posted: Fri, Dec 14 8:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
A new entrant has emerged in the competition for the first television show to send a contestant into space, according to an Entertainment Weekly article....

Mars Odyssey finds evidence of water
Posted: Thu, Dec 13 10:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft has detected evidence of water ice deposits on the surface of Mars, scientists said Wednesday. Early data from the spacecraft'...

News briefs: December 12
Posted: Thu, Dec 13 7:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
Two companies announced contracts for new communications satellites Wednesday. Space Systems/Loral said it has reached agreements to build two 1300-series satellites, XTAR EUR...

Report: X-33 to be scrapped
Posted: Wed, Dec 12 2:03 PM ET (1903 GMT)
A last ditch effort to save the X-33 has failed, and the experimental vehicle is in the process of being disassembled, SPACE.com reported...

Shuttle mission extended a day
Posted: Wed, Dec 12 11:09 AM ET (1609 GMT)
Shuttle managers decided Tuesday to extend the mission of the space shuttle Endeavour by one day to give the crew of STS-108 more time...

NASA gives tentative approval to Shuttleworth flight
Posted: Wed, Dec 12 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
NASA officials confirmed Tuesday that they given their tentative approval to a flight next year by space tourist Mark Shuttleworth. Reuters reported that NASA and...

News briefs: December 11
Posted: Wed, Dec 12 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)
The Senate has confirmed Peter Teets to become undersecretary of the Air Force, the highest-ranking military space position. Teets, a former president of Lockheed...

Zenit launches five satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 11 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
A Zenit 2 booster successfully launches a Russian weather satellite and four other spacecraft Monday. The Zenit lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 12:19...

News briefs: December 10
Posted: Tue, Dec 11 10:02 AM ET (1502 GMT)
Jupiter's moon Io does not generate a magnetic field of its own but does interact with Jupiter's magnetic field in a number of...



news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list