spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Pentagon releases new space strategy
Posted: Sun, Jun 21 8:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
The Defense Department released a new space strategy Wednesday that describes China and Russia as the "most immediate and serious threats" to US space assets....

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 21 8:27 AM ET (1227 GMT)
China launched an imaging satellite early Wednesday. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 3:19 am eDT (...

SpaceX launches Starlink and Planet satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 16 12:24 PM ET (1624 GMT)
SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites Saturday, this time with some rideshare passengers. A Falcon 9 lifted off at 5:21 am EDT (0921...

Rocket Lab launches NRO, university satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 16 12:23 PM ET (1623 GMT)
Rocket Lab performed an Electron launch Saturday of several smallsats for universities and the NRO. The Electron lifted off from the company's New Zealand...

NASA selects commercial crew manager as next head of human spaceflight programs
Posted: Tue, Jun 16 12:21 PM ET (1621 GMT)
NASA has selected the longtime manager of its commercial crew program as the next head of its overall human spaceflight efforts. NASA announced Friday that...

NASA selects Astrobotic to transport VIPER rover to the Moon
Posted: Sat, Jun 13 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
NASA has selected Astrobotic to fly a rover to the south pole of the Moon in 2023 to look for water ice. Under a $199....

JWST to miss March 2021 launch date
Posted: Sat, Jun 13 9:26 AM ET (1326 GMT)
NASA confirmed Wednesday that the James Webb Space Telescope won't launch as planned next March because of the coronavirus pandemic. At a meeting Wednesday,...

Airmen apply to join Space Force
Posted: Sat, Jun 13 9:25 AM ET (1325 GMT)
More than 8,500 airmen have applied to transfer to the US Space Force. Officials said they were anticipating about 7,000 would volunteer to...

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 6 3:45 PM ET (1945 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched another set of Starlink satellites Wednesday night. A Falcon 9 rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 9:25 pm EDT (...

Astroscale acquiring satellite servicing company
Posted: Sat, Jun 6 3:40 PM ET (1940 GMT)
Astroscale is moving into the geostationary satellite servicing market by acquiring another company's technology. Astroscale announced Wednesday it is acquiring the intellectual property of...



news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 6
With Iran in its sights, Israel launches new spy satellite into orbit
The Times of Israel — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel launches Ofek 16 recon satellite into orbit
i24news — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel successfully launches new spy satellite
Calcalist — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)
Israel successfully launches Ofek 16 spy satellite into space
Jerusalem Post — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list