spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA picks SpaceX to develop Artemis lunar lander
Posted: Fri, Apr 23 5:51 PM ET (2151 GMT)
NASA selected SpaceX to develop a lunar lander for the Artemis program. NASA announced Friday it awarded a $2.89 billion contract to SpaceX for...

SNC to spin off space business
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
Sierra Nevada Corporation (SNC) plans to spin off its space division into an independent business. The company said its Space Systems division will be transformed...

Astrobotic selects Falcon Heavy to launch NASA lunar rover
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
Astrobotic has selected SpaceX's Falcon Heavy to launch a lunar lander mission carrying a NASA rover. Astrobotic announced Tuesday that it signed a contract...

MEV-2 docks with Intelsat satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)
Northrop Grumman's satellite life extension spacecraft docked with an Intelsat communications satellite Monday. Northrop's Mission Extension Vehicle (MEV) 2 docked with the Intelsat...

White House proposes $24.7 billion budget for NASA in 2022
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)
The White House is proposing a budget increase of more than 6% for NASA in fiscal year 2022. A budget outline released by the Biden...

UAE hires two new astronauts
Posted: Sun, Apr 18 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
The United Arab Emirates doubled the size of its astronaut corps with the selection Saturday of two new astronauts. The UAE announced it selected Nora...

Soyuz sends crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Apr 11 11:52 AM ET (1552 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft delivered a new crew to the International Space Station early Friday. A Soyuz-2.1a rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome...

China launches space environment satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 11 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
China launched a space environment satellite Thursday. A Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 7:01 pm EDT (...

Orbcomm to be acquired by private equity firm
Posted: Sun, Apr 11 11:36 AM ET (1536 GMT)
Orbcomm announced Thursday it will be acquired by a private equity company. GI Partners, which invests in data infrastructure, is paying $11.50 in cash...

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Apr 11 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites Wednesday as the company gets close to providing continuous global coverage. A Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape...



news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 9
Congratulations, You Weren’t Crushed by Space Debris Today
New York Magazine — 8:51 am ET (1251 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list