spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: August 23
Posted: Sat, Aug 24 11:45 AM ET (1545 GMT)
Lance Bass apparently has an extra week to round up the funding to fly on a Soyuz taxi mission in October. Bass is scheduled to...

News briefs: August 22
Posted: Fri, Aug 23 8:17 AM ET (1217 GMT)
Orbital Sciences Corporation announced Thursday that it had completed the sale of $135 million in bank notes that the company announced earlier this month. The...

Science briefs: August 22
Posted: Fri, Aug 23 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)
Scientists have found evidence that an asteroid collided with the Earth nearly 3.5 billion years ago. Rocks in South Africa and Australia contain spherules...

Lance Bass faces Friday funding deadline
Posted: Fri, Aug 23 7:42 AM ET (1142 GMT)
There is as yet no clear indication whether pop star Lance Bass will be able to make a Friday deadline for a key payment for...

Proton launches EchoStar 8
Posted: Thu, Aug 22 9:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
A Proton launch vehicle successfully placed the EchoStar 8 satellite into orbit early Thursday. The Proton-K lifted off at 1:15 am EDT (0515...

News briefs: August 22
Posted: Thu, Aug 22 7:54 AM ET (1154 GMT)
NASA has yet to detect a signal from the CONTOUR spacecraft a week after the engine burn that triggered its silence, further reducing hopes that...

Maiden Atlas 5 launch a success
Posted: Wed, Aug 21 9:46 PM ET (0146 GMT)
The inaugural flight of the Atlas 5 booster was declared a success late Wednesday when it successfully launched a communications satellite. The Atlas 5 lifted...

Winds delay Proton launch again
Posted: Wed, Aug 21 8:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
High winds delayed the launch of a Proton booster carrying an American television broadcasting satellite early Wednesday for the second straight day. The Proton-K...

News briefs: August 20
Posted: Wed, Aug 21 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
The US Air Force has delayed a request for proposals for the next generation of GPS satellites, Aerospace Daily reported Tuesday. The Air Force had...

Winds delay Proton launch
Posted: Tue, Aug 20 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
High winds caused delayed the launch of a Proton booster carrying an American television broadcasting satellite early Tuesday. The Proton-K was scheduled to lift...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list