spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle countdown begins
Posted: Sat, Oct 20 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
The countdown clock started Saturday afternoon towards Tuesday's launch of the space shuttle Discovery, although weather could delay the launch. The countdown for the...

Orbital reports sharp increase in revenue, income
Posted: Sat, Oct 20 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)
Orbital Sciences Corporation reported this week a significant increase in its revenues and income in its fiscal third quarter due to expanded activity on satellites...

NASA terminates RpK COTS award
Posted: Thu, Oct 18 8:37 PM ET (0037 GMT)
NASA has ended an existing agreement with Rocketplane Kistler (RpK) to help fund development of a reusable launch vehicle and will hold a competition to...

Delta 2 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Wed, Oct 17 9:19 PM ET (0119 GMT)
A Delta 2 rocket placed the latest GPS navigation satellite into orbit Wednesday morning. The United Launch Alliance (ULA) Delta 2 7925 lifted off from...

NASA agrees to Oct. 23 shuttle launch date
Posted: Wed, Oct 17 8:24 AM ET (1224 GMT)
NASA officials signed off late Tuesday on the planned October 23 launch of the space shuttle Discovery despite concerns about some of the leading-edge...

Senate approves NASA budget
Posted: Wed, Oct 17 8:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
The US Senate passed an appropriations bill Tuesday that gives NASA $1 billion more than originally requested, after fending off a last-minute bid to...

China planning lunar orbiter launch this month
Posted: Tue, Oct 16 8:38 PM ET (0038 GMT)
Chinese officials confirmed Tuesday that the country will launch its first lunar mission, a robotic orbiter, later this month. The official news agency Xinhua reported...

NASA extends Mars rover mission again
Posted: Tue, Oct 16 7:29 AM ET (1129 GMT)
NASA announced Monday that it has once again extended the mission of its twin Mars Exploration Rovers, Spirit and Opportunity, allowing the spacecraft to continue...

Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Fri, Oct 12 8:48 PM ET (0048 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people, including the first Malaysian cosmonaut, docked with the International Space Station on Friday morning. The Soyuz TMA-11 spacecraft...

Kaguya releases subsatellite, returns lunar images
Posted: Fri, Oct 12 8:23 AM ET (1223 GMT)
Japan's Kaguya lunar orbiter released the first of two subsatellites earlier this week and also returned its first images of the Moon. Kaguya released...



news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list