spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars crater shows signs of past lake
Posted: Tue, Jan 22 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)
Planetary scientists have found evidence that a Martian crater was once home to a lake fed by groundwater. Scientists reporting in the latest edition of...

Arabsat orders new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 8:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
Middle Eastern satellite operator Arabsat announced Saturday it has ordered a new communications satellite to be built and launched by European companies. Badr-7 (also...

Reaction wheel glitch temporarily suspends Kepler operations
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 7:52 AM ET (1252 GMT)
NASA's Kepler spacecraft is suspending science operations for ten days to rest a reaction wheel that showed signs of wear, project officials said late...

South Korea sets new launch date for KSLV-1
Posted: Fri, Jan 18 6:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
South Korean officials announced this week they will make another attempt to launch their own small launch vehicle during a window that opens late this...

ESA, NASA agree on ATV-based service module for Orion
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 6:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
NASA and ESA formally announced Wednesday that Europe will develop a service module for at least one Orion mission based on the ATV cargo spacecraft....

Curiosity rover ready to test drill
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
NASA's Curiosity Mars rover is set to test its drill in the coming days on a rock that scientists believe may provide new information...

Rockot places three satellites in orbit
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:25 AM ET (1225 GMT)
A Russian Rockot booster placed three Russian military satellites into orbit on Tuesday in the first orbital launch of the year. The Rockot vehicle lifted...

Canadian Space Agency head to step down
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
The president of the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) will resign at the end of the month to take a position with a new research institute,...

Wildfire hits Australian observatory
Posted: Mon, Jan 14 6:39 AM ET (1139 GMT)
A massive wildfire swept through a major Australian astronomical observatory on Sunday, damaging some buildings but apparently sparing key telescopes there. The fast-moving fire...

Bigelow to provide expandable module for ISS
Posted: Sat, Jan 12 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)
NASA confirmed Friday that Bigelow Aerospace, a company developing commercial space stations using modules that inflate in orbit, will provide a module for the International...



news in brief
news links
Saturday, October 1
Trump's Space Policy is a Black Hole
Inverse — 11:25 am ET (1525 GMT)
This Is What Inspired Elon Musk To Get Into The Modern Space Race
The Huffington Post — 11:20 am ET (1520 GMT)
Elon Musk, billionaire tech idealist and space entrepreneur
Financial Times — 11:19 am ET (1519 GMT)
Never fear! SpaceX will save us from Donald Trump
Sacramento Bee — 11:17 am ET (1517 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list