spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: January 29
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
A leading Russian government official claimed Tuesday that Russia planned to vacate the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan by 2005. Alexander Kosovan, Russian deputy defense minister,...

EUVE to reenter by Thursday
Posted: Wed, Jan 30 8:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
NASA's Extreme Ultraviolet Explorer (EUVE) spacecraft is expected to reenter the Earth's atmosphere by Thursday morning, the space agency announced Tuesday. The spacecraft...

News briefs: January 28
Posted: Tue, Jan 29 10:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
Boeing's Rocketdyne division unveiled the design Monday for its proposed rocket engine for the next generation of reusable launch vehicles. The RS-83 is...

Tito cautious about space tourism prospects
Posted: Tue, Jan 29 9:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
Dennis Tito, the California businessman who became the first commercial space tourist last year, believes that space tourism will gradually increase, but has no plans...

Columbia finally rolls out to launch pad
Posted: Tue, Jan 29 8:55 AM ET (1355 GMT)
The space shuttle Columbia rolled out to the launch pad on Monday after crawler problems delayed the move for nearly a week. The shuttle left...

News briefs: January 26-27
Posted: Mon, Jan 28 9:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
A Russian Space Forces satellite control center in the Russian Far East lost power Saturday because of a failure to pay bills. The utility company...

Lockheed Martin reports big loss, Boeing posts profit
Posted: Mon, Jan 28 8:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)
Lockheed Martin reported a $1.5 billion fourth quarter loss on Friday, mostly due to the closure of its Global Communications business, while its leading...

News briefs: January 25
Posted: Sat, Jan 26 11:23 AM ET (1623 GMT)
A former Russian cosmonaut sharply criticized his nation's plans to fly more tourists on Soyuz missions. Valentin Lebedev, who flew on two missions in...

ISS crew conducts spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jan 26 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)
Two members of the International Space Station's Expedition Four crew successfully conducted the second spacewalk in as many weeks outside the station Friday. Cosmonaut...

Report: Boeing, Lockheed Martin seek EELV aid from Air Force
Posted: Fri, Jan 25 8:57 AM ET (1357 GMT)
The US Air Force is considering a proposal to provide financial aid to prop up the launch vehicle businesses at Boeing and Lockheed Martin, the...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list