spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Early Mars had large ocean
Posted: Fri, Mar 6 7:23 AM ET (1223 GMT)
Scientists reported Thursday that Mars, early in its history, likely had an ocean larger than the Arctic Ocean on Earth today. In a paper published...

Short circuit halts Mars rover operations
Posted: Thu, Mar 5 7:26 AM ET (1226 GMT)
A "transient short circuit" in the Mars rover Curiosity's robotic arm has put operations of the rover on hold while engineers assess the problem,...

UK narrows list of potential spaceport sites
Posted: Wed, Mar 4 7:26 AM ET (1226 GMT)
The British government announced Tuesday it has cut two sites from a list of eight potential locations for a commercial spaceport, but at least two...

Military weather satellite explodes in orbit
Posted: Tue, Mar 3 7:44 AM ET (1244 GMT)
A 20-year-old weather satellite exploded in orbit last month, creating several dozen pieces of debris. Air Force officials confirmed that the Defense Meteorological...

Dawn approaches Ceres
Posted: Tue, Mar 3 7:27 AM ET (1227 GMT)
NASA's Dawn spacecraft is on track to enter orbit around the dwarf planet Ceres at the end of this week, project officials said Monday....

Falcon 9 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 7:20 AM ET (1220 GMT)
A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a pair of small communications satellites Sunday night. The Falcon 9 v1.1 rocket lifted off on schedule...

Astronauts wrap up series of ISS spacewalks
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 7:11 AM ET (1211 GMT)
Two NASA astronauts completed the last in a series of three spacewalks outside the International Space Station on Sunday to prepare the station for future...

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 28 9:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched a Russian military reconnaissance satellite on Friday. The Soyuz 2-1a rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia...

NASA approves next ISS spacewalk despite water leak in suit
Posted: Sat, Feb 28 9:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
NASA managers said Friday they were proceeding with plans for the last in a series of three spacewalks outside the International Space Station on Sunday...

Air Force head questions schedule for RD-180 replacement
Posted: Fri, Feb 27 6:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)
The Secretary of the Air Force said this week that she doubts a domestically-manufactured replacement for the RD-180 engine would be ready by...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list