spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars One delays missions by two years
Posted: Fri, Mar 20 8:27 PM ET (0027 GMT)
A private venture with the long-term goal of sending humans to Mars on one-way missions has pushed back its timeline by two years....

Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Mar 19 11:54 AM ET (1554 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite on Thursday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 6:05 pm...

NASA awards launch contract for solar mission
Posted: Thu, Mar 19 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday that it has selected a Delta 4 Heavy to launch a solar probe mission in 2018. NASA said it awarded a $389-...

Atlas launches NASA space science spacecraft
Posted: Fri, Mar 13 8:55 PM ET (0055 GMT)
An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched four NASA satellites that will study disturbances in the Earth's magnetosphere. Tha ULA Atlas 5 421 lifted off...

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers
Posted: Thu, Mar 12 11:07 PM ET (0307 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying one NASA astronaut and two Roscosmos cosmonauts departed the ISS and landed safely Wednesday night. The Soyuz TMA-14M spacecraft undocked...

Scientists find evidence for warm liquid water ocean under Enceladus
Posted: Thu, Mar 12 10:56 PM ET (0256 GMT)
Any icy moon of Saturn likely has a warm ocean of liquid water beneath its surface, scientists reported this week. In a paper published in...

SLS booster performs successful static test fire
Posted: Wed, Mar 11 10:10 PM ET (0210 GMT)
A solid rocket booster planned for use on NASA's Space Launch System completed a successful test firing Wednesday. The five-segment booster fired for...

Brightman discusses plans for tourist flight to ISS
Posted: Wed, Mar 11 8:08 AM ET (1208 GMT)
Singer Sarah Brightman said Tuesday she will sing a song during her upcoming commercial trip on the International Space Station. Brightman, speaking at a press...

Aerojet Rocketdyne to cut hundreds of jobs
Posted: Tue, Mar 10 8:24 AM ET (1224 GMT)
Space propulsion company Aerojet Rocketdyne will cut about 10 percent of its current workforce over the next four years as part of a corporate restructuring,...

Dawn enters orbit around Ceres
Posted: Sat, Mar 7 9:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
NASA's Dawn spacecraft entered orbit around the dwarf planet Ceres as expected on Friday. Dawn was captured by Ceres' gravity at 7:39 am...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, August 19
Spy satellite chief weighs in on reforms
POLITICO — 9:26 am ET (1326 GMT)
Editorial: Space travel still a fearful prospect
New Zealand Herald — 9:21 am ET (1321 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list