spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches next set of Starlink, Planet satellites
Posted: Fri, Aug 21 5:53 PM ET (2153 GMT)
SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites Tuesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off at 10:31 am EDT (1431 GMT) from Cape Canaveral, Florida, and...

Ariane 5 launches three satellites
Posted: Fri, Aug 21 5:48 PM ET (2148 GMT)
A long-delayed Ariane 5 launched three commercial satellites Saturday. The Ariane 5 lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 6:04 pm EDT (2204...

OSIRIS-REx conducts final rehearsal of asteroid sampling maneuver
Posted: Sat, Aug 15 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)
NASA's OSIRIS-REx spacecraft successfully carried out a final rehearsal this week of its maneuver to collect samples from an asteroid. The spacecraft descended...

Arecibo radio telescope damaged
Posted: Sat, Aug 15 4:30 PM ET (2030 GMT)
The Arecibo radio telescope is out of service after a broken cable damaged part of the giant observatory. The cable, used to help suspend a...

Space Force releases "Spacepower" report
Posted: Sat, Aug 15 4:27 PM ET (2027 GMT)
The US Space Force has released a report describing its vision of "space power." The document, released Monday, lays out a vision for what the...

Thales Alenia wins SES satellite contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 15 4:25 PM ET (2025 GMT)
Thales Alenia Space has won contracts from SES for two C-band satellites. Thales Alenia Space said it will build the SES-22 and SES-...

SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)
SpaceX and United Launch Alliance have won contracts potentially worth billions of dollars to launch national security satellites for much of the coming decade. The...

SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)
SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites, and two BlackSky imaging satellites, early Friday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at...

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:07 PM ET (2107 GMT)
China launched a new Earth imaging satellite Thursday. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 12:01 am...

Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)
A SpaceX Starship prototype made a long-awaited brief test flight Tuesday evening. The Starship SN5 vehicle lifted off from the company's Boca Chica,...



news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, October 27
The five biggest effects Trump has had on the US space program
Technology Review — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list